Arts & Culture Commission

Meeting Information

Date: 2nd Wednesday of every month
Time: 5:30 PM
Place: Hale Building
175 N. Garfield Ave., Suite 420
Pasadena CA 91109
Media: Archived Audio & Video Recordings
Notifications: Sign up to receive agenda notifications by email

 

Contact Information

Staff Rep: Patricia Valencia – PValencia@cityofpasadena.net
Phone: (626) 744-4591
Mailing Address: Hale Building
175 N. Garfield Ave.
Pasadena CA 91109

 

Submission Due Date

Wednesday, December 12, 2018 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, January 16, 2019 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, March 13, 2019 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, July 17, 2019 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, September 11, 2019 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, October 16, 2019 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, November 13, 2019 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, December 11, 2019 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, January 15, 2020 @ 3 PM

 

Arts & Culture Commission Meeting Date

Wednesday, January 9, 2019 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, March 13, 2019 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, May 8, 2019 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, July 10, 2019 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, September 11, 2019 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, October 9, 2019 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, November 13, 2019 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, December 11, 2019 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, January 8, 2020 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, February 12, 2020 @ 5:30 PM

Commission Members

Name Nominating Authority Term Expires
Michelle Leon Mayor 6/30/21
Cybele Garcia Kohel At Large / District 3 6/30/20
Julius Metoyer, Jr. District 1 6/30/20
Daniel Yen District 2 6/30/20
Yolanda Sepulveda District 3 6/30/21
Edgar Arceneaux District 4 6/30/19
Vacant District 5 6/30/19
Warren Sata, Chair District 6 6/30/20
Laurie Burruss District 7 6/30/19

Composition

9 members. 1 appointed by each of the 7 Council members and the Mayor. The Mayor shall nominate one member from persons recommended by the other 7 Councilmembers. Pasadena residency required. Members required to file annual Statement of Economic Interest.

Description

The Commission shall advise the City Council on matters pertaining to the City’s arts and cultural program which shall: foster public and private partnerships for providing arts and cultural programs for the youth of Pasadena; promote access for the public to the highest quality arts opportunities possible; promote the work of artists and art groups and celebrate the City for its ethnic diversity, creativity, and its leadership in arts and culture; provide grants-in-aid to individual and group artists, cultural groups, and arts organizations; encourage the provision of cultural and artistic facilities and features in public and commercial construction. The Commission shall appoint highly qualified peer panels for specified time periods to: select public art and art in public places; review and evaluate requests for funding; and advise the Commission on the allocation of funds from the Cultural Trust Fund.

Term of Office

3 years. Limited to 2 consecutive terms.