Design Commission

Meeting Information

Date: 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month
Time: 6:30 PM
Place: Pasadena City Hall
Council Chambers
100 N. Garfield Avenue
Media: Archived Audio & Video Recordings

Sign up to receive agenda notifications by email

Design Commission Notifications


Contact Information

Staff Rep: Michi Takeda
Phone: 626-744-7135
Mailing Address: Hale Building
175 N. Garfield Ave., 2nd Floor
Pasadena, CA 91101


Commission Members

Name Nominating Authority Term Expires
Philip C. Chiao At Large/District 6 6/30/23
Jose Noel Toro At Large/District 5 6/30/22
Christopher Hawthorne At Large/District 7 6/30/23
Srinivas Rao, Chair At Large/District 6 6/30/22
Robert Carpenter At Large/District 1 6/30/22
Yolanda Sepulveda A&C N/A
Stephen Lipira HPC N/A
Julianna Delgado PC N/A
Timothy Sales TAC N/A



9 members. The mayor shall nominate six members from persons recommended by the other seven Councilmembers. One member appointed by A&CC, TAC, HPC, & PC. Pasadena residency required. Members are required to file annual Statements of Economic Interest.


Advisory of the City Council on the establishment of design standards, criteria, concepts and policies for the implementation of public and private projects. Reviews projects for the purpose of creating uniform design concepts and to ensure the maintenance of design excellence.

Term of Office

Three years, limited to two consecutive terms.